uscga badge
Close this search box.

Cyber Council Members

Cyber Council members are selected from each academic Department; the Cadet Professional Development and Cadet Training branches; Information Services; Admissions; and stakeholder entities. The Council reports to the Academy Provost.
  • CAPT Joseph Benin, Ph.D. (Electrical Engineering & Cyber Systems), Chair
  • LT Julian Blanco (Electrical Engineering & Cyber Systems)
  • CDR Michael Chien (Commandant, CG-791)
  • LCDR Jamie Embry (USCG Cyber Command)
  • Chad Davis (Electrical Engineering & Cyber Systems)
  • Richard Freeman, Ph.D. (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Ian Frommer, Ph.D. (Mathematics)
  • Ethan Gold (Cyber Systems)
  • Angela Jackson-Summer, Ph.D. (Management)
  • CDR Kimberly Young-McLear, Ph.D. (DHS)
  • Gary Kessler, Ph.D. (USCG Auxiliary)
  • Constantine Macris (Cyber Systems)
  • Jillian McLeod, Ph.D. (Mathematics)
  • Daniel Pinch (Admissions)
  • LCDR David Pizzurro (USCG Cyber Command)
  • LT Ryan Quarry (Cyber Systems and Cyber Team Head Coach)
  • LT Christen Shih (Management)
  • Bill Randall (Electrical Engineering & Cyber Systems)
  • Carlos Salazar, Ph.D. (National Security Agency)
  • Donna Selch, Ph.D. (Science)
  • LCDR Jason Veara (Electrical Engineering & Cyber Systems)
  • Lucy Vlietstra, Ph.D. (Science)
  • LT Katelyn Waddle (Humanities/Intel Officer), Vice Chair
  • LT Richard Williams (Electrical Engineering & Cyber Systems)
  • LCDR Grant Wyman (USCGA CIO)

Contact Information

Superintendent’s Council for Cyber Education and Training
CDR Joseph Benin
USCGA Cyber Council Chair
(860) 444-8282
LT Katelyn Waddle
USCGA Cyber Council Vice Chair
(860) 701-6528
CGA Badge
Links from these pages to non-Coast Guard sites are provided as a customer service and do not represent any implicit or explicit endorsement by the United States Coast Guard of any commercial or private issues or products presented there.